I love you.

I love you all – every single one of you.

I don’t love the “gays”, the “straights”, the “blacks”, the “whites”, the “others”, the “christians”,  the “men”, the “women” – I love the human beings.

The people following this blog know me as a writer of gay fiction (or a biographer of fictional characters, as I prefer to call it lol) but I don’t fight for “gay” rights – I fight for HUMAN rights.  I fight against child abuse, and for women’s rights, transgender rights, religious rights, father’s rights, minority rights, and for fair, unbiased treatment of law-abiding immigrants regardless of how they got into our country – basically, everything that the new U.S. president-elect stands firmly against.

If you saw my twitter feed, I stayed up last night until the democratic candidate conceded and I’ll be honest – I cried.

I cried for my gay friends who may have to face having their brand-new marriages invalidated. I cried for my transgender friends who just want to be able to pee without someone checking up their skirt or grabbing their crotch to see if their “packing”.  I cried for my friends of the Muslim faith who will face renewed discrimination. I cried for the LGBTQ community  that already faces an unacceptably high suicide rate. I cried for the young people I know who are gay or questioning and who, instead of coming out proudly and living their lives freely, are now backing further into the closet because their country just declared them, at best, second-class citizens.

I’m crying again as I type this.

The next four years are not going to be easy but we have to press on. If you find yourself feeling overwhelmed, please reach out:

American Foundation for the Prevention of Suicide
1-800-273-TALK (8255)

The Trevor Project

By  Phone: 1-866-488-7386
By Text         1-202-304-1200 (texting rates apply)

Also remember that I am always happy to hear from you. I am NOT a qualified suicide prevention counselor so please, please make that call FIRST if the situation is dire – I couldn’t bear to lose any of you – and then message me on Facebook or through Twitter, or email me K.Rhodes@NDPPublications.com. It might take me a few hours to respond, but I WILL respond.

We will continue to fight this war on inequality because only when we are ALL free and equal can our country be great.

I love you,

Kian

 

Leave a Reply

